Braaaaaiiiinnnnnnnnnnnss!!!

Halloween was quite productive for Mike and I this year. After not really doing anything for a couple of years we went all out. Last year was so busy that we didn’t even have the chance to carve our pumpkins. Sadness! This year I created Edwina: The dinosaur who didn’t know she was extinct (thank you Mo Willems) and Mike made a vomiting pumpkin because it was rotten when we opened it up. Below are some pictures of the carving. I somehow never took a picture of my pumpkin in its completed form. Weird. I used some of my old carving tools and it looked pretty good. Oh well, next year.

DSC_0464

Rotten pumpkin = grossness!

DSC_0467

Vomit pumpkin!

DSC_0469

Beginning of Edwina.

DSC_0586

Zombie attack!!!

Now, for the picture above. Ha! On October 30th there was a Zombie lurch through part of Downtown Durham. It was amazing! I estimate about 150 to 175 zombies in the lurch (this includes hunters, victims, photographers, and the like). There were even children dressed as zombies. Well, Mike’s makeup was a joint effort. He used latex and toilet paper to create the crevices of the face wounds. Great texture was created. Then I stepped in with the face paint and added the death and gore. I did theatre during high school and college and this was a nice chance to whip out my skills. Top it off with some fake blood and there you have it. ZOMBIE!

 

About repletewithclass

wife. art teacher. whirlwind.
This entry was posted in General Arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Braaaaaiiiinnnnnnnnnnnss!!!

  1. Celia says:

    Looks like a lot of fun! I’ve been exploring the world of zombies recently (even watched my first zombie film, Zombieland!), and I have to say that I’m mad impressed by all of the great costumes and makeup that are involved. Hope you took pictures!

Leave a Reply

