For my Mother: A belated Mother’s Day post

All of us believe that we have the best mother in the world. I would never argue with your reasons but I wanted to tell you a little bit about my mother (who may or may not be the number one mom out there).

She’s a tough cookie who has a genuine heart for God. The worst word I’ve ever heard her say is ‘jerk’. She’s feistier than she lets on, but dad isn’t the only one I get it from. She’s a woman who lost her father in her early twenties and never let that interfere with her love for her step-dad, the grandfather that I grew up with. She waited eight years to marry my dad and has been married to him for thirty years. They got married and she moved back home because dad was deployed days later. She’s moved with my father countless times because of his job- uprooted the family and moved on because it was what was best for the family at the time. She watched my brother suffer through treatments for neuroblastoma as an infant. She took time to read to me every night before bed when I was a little girl. She made it a goal in life to create a good and successful relationship with me, her daughter. She was a Girl Scout and Cub Scout troop leader. She made ninety percent of halloween costumes (she’s fabulous at a sewing machine). She made God, home and family her top priorities. She survived my middle-school teen years- WHAT EVER. She let me work in Michigan after my freshman year in college- in which I had to get there by myself. She didn’t tell me I was crazy when I said I wanted to teach art- she was, however, probably thinking it when I took this new job that entails a pay cut. She watched me marry a wonderful man and move away without being resentful but fully supportive. She has watched my brother grow into a young man. A young man who recently graduated from the Naval Academy and is now a 2nd Lt. in the Marine Corps. And now she is about to retire after 32 years of Federal Service. My mom is awesome. She is strong and lovely. She’s proud of me, but I am very proud and very grateful for a mother like her.

I love you mom! Happy retirement (and I’ll see you in June!)

About repletewithclass

wife. art teacher. whirlwind.
This entry was posted in General Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

